AFAS Committees

Volunteer to serve on an AFAS Committee.  (ALA login and password required)


2014 ALA Conference Program Planning
Derek T. Mosley, Chair
Assistant Head, Archives Research Center
Atlanta university Center Woodruff Library
dmosley@auctr.edu

Members
Rudolph Clay
Head of Outreach Services
Olin Library
Washington University
rudolphc@wustle.edu

LaTanya N. Jenkins
African American Studies, Government Information & Reference Librarian
Temple University
Latanya.Jenkins@temple.edu

Vivian Felice Washington
University of South Carolina

Megan Griffin, ACRL Program Officer
ACRL – American Library Association
mgriffin@ala.org


Membership
Coordinates recruitment and retention activities. Sends letters to new members and individuals who have dropped their membership, encourages participation in AFAS activities, serves as liaison between ACRL/ALA membership committees and AFAS section.

Members

Glenda Alvin
Assistant Director for Collection Management
Associate Professor
Brown-Daniel Library
Tennessee State  University
galvin@tnstate.edu


Publication
 and Research
The Committee produces the AFAS newsletter, a section brochure, maintains the web page and social networking applications; submits program description for College and Research Libraries News; identifies needed research, encourages collaboration in research, facilitates the acquisition of skills related to research and publishing, and promotes an awareness of existing and ongoing research related or applicable to African American Studies librarianship and resource; oversees ongoing work on the core list of books for African American Studies.

Akilah Shukura Nosakhere, Chair (2014-2015)
Director of Library Services
Associate Professor
New Mexico State University Carlsbad
anosa7@nmsu.edu

Members

Vivian Fisher
Manager, African American Department
Enoch Pratt Free Library
vfisher@prattlibrary.org

Jamillah R. Gabriel
Black Cultural Center
Purdue University

Rebecca Hankins
Certified Archivist & Curator
Associate Professor
Africana Studies/Race & Ethnic Studies Resources
Cushing Memorial Library & Archives
Texas A& M University
rhankins@library.tamu.edu

Tracey Hughes
Dental Instructional Resources Librarian
University of Missouri-Kansas City

Dalena Hunter
Librarian
Ralph J. Bunche Center for African American Studies at UCLA
dalena.hunter@gmail.com

Holly A. Smith
College Archvist
Spelman College

Megan Griffin, ACRL Program Officer
ACRL – American Library Association
mgriffin@ala.org